About the Faculty of Science MU

About the Faculty

The Faculty of Science MU, established in 1919 in Brno, is the second-largest university in the Czech Republic. The faculty provides outstanding educational programs in natural sciences and has been credited with several scientific achievements of international significance throughout its history. Specific areas of research focus on the harmonic progression of individual natural sciences and remain the faculty's priority objectives. A substantial part of the faculty's research activity is also devoted to basic research closely linked to instructions in doctoral degree programmes.

The Faculty of Science is the largest and the most productive scientific unit of the Masaryk University generating around 40 % of MU research results. The entire MU is modern, dynamic and the most attractive university in the Czech Republic with 10 faculties, more than 6000 staff and 30 000 students, a wide range of research areas and a strong international position. It is the largest academic employer in the South Moravian Region.

There are almost 1300 employees at the faculty, working at 13 departments and 3 specialized units. All employees are taken care of by the faculty Human Resources office, closely cooperating with the HR Award Office and individual departments' administrative staff.

International employees, who represent about 10% of the faculty staff, come from about 38 countries are taken care of by the university dedicated centre, the International Staff Office.

You are running an old browser version. We recommend updating your browser to its latest version.